Utah Department of Administrative Services

Division of Archives & Records Service

Criminal Records

This research guide attempts to identify criminal records currently in the holdings of the Utah State Archives.  A wide variety of government agencies have been responsible for creating criminal records over time.  Among the more prominent in the Archives collection are records from an assortment of courts (both Territorial and Statehood), records from numerous Justices of the Peace throughout Utah, records from local police agencies, Governor’s records and documents from the Secretary of State/Lieutenant Governor’s Office, and some records from the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole as well as the Utah Department of Corrections.

Researchers can utilize this guide as a quick help in identifying records by common research topics, such as prisoner photographs and mug shot books, records related to the death penalty and executions performed in Utah, inquest records from around the state, and extradition records about criminals both in and out of Utah.

Within this research guide an attempt has also been made to identify and list records related to individual criminals and criminal cases of historical significance in Utah’s history.  Among the most prominent are court records related to Butch Cassidy, an assortment of records concerning Joe Hill, a collection of court material relating to the Mountain Meadows Massacre, and a range of items associated with the prosecution of polygamy in both the Territory and the State.

The following guide lists criminal records from various agencies by either creating agency or research topic.  These records are accessible through the Research Center. Follow the links for record series numbers for more information on the records; if there is no link you may contact reference staff or search the catalog for additional details.

Attorney General's Office  
Criminal actions registers, 1896-1899 Series 134
District attorney criminal case reports, 1900, 1913 Series 3591
Board of Pardons  
Board of Pardons meeting agenda, 1905-1907 Series 160
Criminal history case files, 1960- Series 80134
Hearings tapes, 1982- Series 14829
Minutes, 1896- Series 332
Prisoners Pardon Application Files, 1892-1949 Series 328 | View Online
Schedule of proceedings, 1896-1918 Series 330

Court Records

Attorney for the Territory  
Criminal register of actions, 1889-1891 Series 22678
Circuit Court (First Circuit)  
Criminal registers of actions, 1978- Series 20697
Circuit Court (Seventh Circuit)  
Registers of actions, 1978-1985 Series 22967

City Courts

Logan. Municipal Court  
Criminal index, undated Series 7719
Criminal registers of actions, 1919-1980 Series 5386
Judgment docket books, 1919-1939 Series 5391
Minute books, 1921-1942 Series 5390
Provo. City Court  
Criminal registers of actions, 1919-1922; 1929-1937 Series 83989
Judgment docket book, 1933-1955 Series 84058
Judgment roll, 1923-1927 Series 9581
Minutes, 1924-1927 Series 83988
Salt Lake City. City Court  
Criminal case docket books, 1909-1958 Series 4860
Criminal case minute books, 1902-1958 Series 5364
Criminal and civil sampled case files, 1916-1957 Series 1620
Transcripts, 1924-1955 Series 3258

Territorial Courts (1850-1895)

District Court (First District)  
Case files, 1851-1856; 1865 Series 25011
Civil and criminal case blotters, 1890-1891 Series 7571
Criminal case administrative records, 1881-1896 Series 1520
Grand jury dockets, 1883-1886 Series 1526
Grand jury minutes, 1886-1893 Series 1525
Grand jury reports, 1895-1896 Series 1527
Minute books, 1851-1896 Series 10035
North division criminal case files, 1878-1891 Series 1529
Plaintiff index, 1878-1890 Series 21018
South Division Criminal Case Files, 1875-1895 Series 1521
District Court (Second District)  
Criminal case index, 1889-1892 Series 24553
Criminal information record book, 1898-1926 Series 25022
Criminal registers of action, 1886-1897 Series 24346
Final case records, 1888-1889 Series 24071
General indexes, 1852-1896 Series 24247
Judgment index, 1890-1896 Series 24554
Judgement Record, 1888-1895 Series 24129
Minute books, 1852-1896 Series 5319
District Court (Third District)  
Attorney’s roll book, 1895 Series 3811
Case file index, 1871-1896 Series 3243
Case files, 1851-1896 Series 9802
Civil and criminal registers of action, 1870-1871 Series 20011
Correspondence, 1878 Series 17149
Criminal case docket book, 1890 Series 3834
Criminal registers of action, 1882-1896 Series 22664
Grand jury minute books, 1878-1896 Series 1635
Salt Lake County docket book, 1897-1900 Series 4576
Territorial criminal case files, 1882-1896 Series 6836
Territorial Minute Books, 1858-1896 Series 1649
US Commissioner criminal case record book, 1890-1895 Series 3928
US Commissioner criminal case docket book, 1889-1895 Series 4662
U.S. Commissioner W.C. Jennings civil and criminal docket book, 1894-1895 Series 4878
U.S. Commissioner Harmel Pratt’s criminal docket book, 1889-1892 Series 4879
District Court (Fourth District)  
Civil and criminal registers of action, 1878-1896 Series 17825
Criminal case files, 1889-1895 Series 1629
Criminal registers of action, 1889-1895 Series 17462
Grand jury reports, 1892-1894 Series 1630
Judgment index, 1878-1892 Series 24808
Minute Books, 1878-1896 Series 5062
Plaintiff’s Index, 1880-ca. 1895 Series 1666
U.S. Commissioner A.C. Bishop’s Weber county criminal docket book, 1891-1893 Series 5069
U.S. Commissioner M.A. Breeden’s Weber county docket book, 1892 Series 24058
U.S. Commissioner Cache County docket books, 1887-1898 Series 3671
U.S. Commissioner Valentine Gideon’s Weber county docket books, 1893-1895 Series 24057
U.S. Commissioner B. Ternes’ Weber county docket book, 1892-1895 Series 24059
District Court (Fifth District)  
Information and indictment record book, 1920-1942 Series 83336
Judgment docket books, 1895- Series 83443
Juror and witness fee book, 1896-1958 Series 83338

Statehood Courts (1896-present)

See also District Courts Research Guide

District Court (First District : Box Elder County)
Court orders, 1899-1938 Series 82944
Criminal Case Files, 1850- Series 11797
Juror lists and statements of jurors, 1896-1919; 1935; 1937 Series 82955
Minute books, 1896- Series 3688
Records, 1981-1987 Series 6252
District Court (First District : Cache County)
Civil and criminal case index, 1895-1923 Series 3676
District Court (Second District : Davis County)
Davis and Weber County case files, 1907-1909 Series 1570
Minutes, 1896- Series 4681
District Court (Second District : Weber County)
Appeals to the District Court, 1903-1907 Series 21007
Criminal case indexes, 1879-1947 Series 17463
Exhibits, 1903- Series 1569
Findings of fact and conclusions of law case books, 1896-1903 Series 1586
Grand jury reports, 1914, 1917 Series 17809
Information and indictment record books, 1898-1963 Series 1588
Judgment dockets index, undated Series 1582
Minutes, 1896-1961 Series 1407
Probate Court index, 1851-1899 Series 21023
Transcript of judgment Book A, undated Series 21032
District Court (Third District : Salt Lake County)
Abstracts of judgment books, 1889-1963 Series 1663
Briefs and opinions records, undated Series 17603
Civil and criminal blotters, 1876-1917 Series 1626
Court case indexes, 1977-1988 Series 14158
Criminal Case Files, 1896-1969 Series 1471
Criminal case files and registers of action index, 1916-1975 Series 13126
Criminal registers of actions, 1896-1974 Series 3253
Exhibits, 1899-1959, 1972 Series 5607
Grand jury records, 1903, 1907 Series 23983
Information and indictment record books Series 3257
Minute Books, 1896-1967 Series 1650
Miscellaneous case files, 1940-1992 Series 6381
Miscellaneous civil and criminal file registers of action, 1925-1977 Series 14157
Monthly reports on enemy aliens, 1942-1951 Series 1659
Notice books, 1898-1903 Series 3221
Papers register, 1897-1900 Series 1687
District Court (Fourth District : Juab County)  
Criminal case files, 1892- Series 7712
Criminal registers of actions, 1895-1985 Series 18185
Minute books, 1896-1985 Series 1397
District Court (Fourth District : Utah County)  
Minutes, 1896-1969 Series 19504
Trial transcript, 1930- Series 3589
District Court (Fifth : Beaver County)  
Case indexes, 1896- Series 24549
Criminal case files, 1896- Series 24338
Criminal registers of actions, 1896- Series 24378
General indexes to action, 1896- Series 24546
Minute books, 1906-1949 Series 1394
District Court (Fifth District : Millard County)
Criminal registers of action, 1896-1982 Series 83445
Judgment record books, 1893-1963 Series 18186
Minute Books, 1896-1948 Series 1406
Probate court minute books, 1854-1963 Series 83438
District Court (Fifth District : Washington County)
Minutes, 1896 Series 23738
Register of actions, 1895-1899 Series 23737
District Court (Sixth District : Garfield County)
Orders and decrees, 1896 Series 18264
Registers of action, 1896-1966 Series 18270
District Court (Sixth District : Piute County)  
Civil and criminal registers of action, 1896-1953 Series 18230
Indictment Records, 1899-1925 Series 20909
Judgment records index, undated Series 6107
District Court (Sixth District : Sanpete County)
Judgment record book, 1896-1945 Series 21849
Minute books, 1896-1941 Series 21850
District Court (Sixth District : Sevier County)  
Blotter, 1902-1906 Series 17547
Criminal case files, 1943- Series 6945
Daily court case files, 1896- Series 7062
Registers of actions, 1896-1948 Series 18224
District Court (Sixth District : Wayne County)  
Court case index, 1896-1966 Series 18226
Criminal case files, 1896- Series 7
Judgment record books, 1896-1983 Series 13446
Registers of action, 1896-1957 Series 18225
District Court (Seventh District : Carbon County)
Criminal case files, 1896- Series 4031
Criminal registers of actions, 1896-1987 Series 21842
Judgment dockets, 1896- Series 14179
Minute books, 1896-1978 Series 14180
District Court (Seventh District : Emery County)
Criminal registers of actions, 1896-1976 Series 21843
District Court (Eighth district : duchesne county)
Criminal Case Files, 1915-present Series 22679
Criminal Registers of Action, 1915-1967 Series 10297

Justice Courts

Salt Lake City. Justice Court  
Jeter Clinton’s criminal docket books, 1867-1874 Series 23834
Criminal court day books, 1890-1897 Series 4629
Criminal docket books, 1890-1902 Series 4671
Criminal fines and forfeiture account books, 1891-1897 Series 4630
Forfeitures index books, 1890-1897 Series 4625
Minute books, 1880-1889 Series 4885
Miscellaneous offense docket books, 1890-1902 Series 12022
Miscellaneous offenses indexes, 1891-1899 Series 4618

Probate Courts

Beaver County. Probate Court  
Record books, 1856-1897 Series 14893
Box Elder County. Probate Court  
Civil and criminal case files, 1856, 1873 Series 9642
Record books, 1856-1877 Series 82970
Cedar County. Probate Court  
Minutes, 1859-1862 Series 17493
Davis County. Probate Court  
Minute books, 1854-1872 Series 25012
Iron County. Probate Court  
Minutes, 1853-1868 Series 17477
Salt Lake County. Probate Court  
Civil and Criminal Case Files, 1852-1887 Series 373
Civil and criminal case docket books, 1852-1887 Series 3944
Civil and criminal case minute book, 1860-1884 Series 3939
Sanpete County. Probate Court  
Minutes, 1852-1896 Series 17693
Tooele County. Probate Court  
Minute books, 1859-1888 Series 14650
Records Books, 1859-1892 Series 1422
Washington County. Probate Court  
Civil and criminal records books, 1859-1886 Series 3168
Weber County. Probate Court  
Civil and criminal case files, 1852-1877 Series 1593
Civil and criminal case registers of actions, 1868-1887 Series 83901

Salt Lake City Attorney

Salt Lake City. City Attorney  
Attorney David M. Haigh’s docket book, 1904-1905 Series  4638

Criminal Photographs

Department of Corrections  
Prison Commitment Registers, 1875- Series 80388
Ogden. Police Department  
Mug shots, 1902-1960 Series 83497
State Prison  
Inmate identification photos, 1890-1925; 1950-1968 Series 10396
Inmate photographs, 1940-1954 Series 10398
Inmate and prison glass plate negatives, 1900, 1930 Series 10413

Death Penalty Records

State Prison  
Executions records, 1854- Series 13938

Extradition Records

Attorney General’s Office  
Extradition records, 1971-1972 Series 169
Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice  
Out of state extradition records, 1953- Series 85236
Governor (1933-1941: Blood)  
Extradition case files, 1933-1938 Series 20793
Governor (1949-1957 : Lee)  
Extradition case files, 1949, 1953 Series 23594
Governor (1957-1965 : Clyde)  
Extradition records, 1956-1964 Series 194
Governor (1965-1977 : Rampton)  
Extradition case files, 1963-1976 Series 1599
Governor (1976-1985 : Matheson)  
Extradition case files, 1967-1985 Series 1547

Justice Of The Peace Records

Beaver County. Justice of the Peace
Justice court docket, 1881-1894; 1897-1903 Series 24073
Bingham Canyon City  
Justice of the Peace criminal dockets, 1912-1915, 1927-1929, 1938-1951, 1955-1956 Series 4589
Cache County. Justice of the Peace : Logan Precinct
Combined civil and criminal docket book, 1914-1915 Series 17941
Complaints and summons, 1917-1919 Series 5388
Criminal case docket books, 1894-1919 Series 5379
Docket books, 1890-1910 Series 3685
Clearfield. Justice of the Peace  
Justice docket, 1924- Series 22331
Davis County. Justice of the Peace  
Justice dockets, 1891-1913; 1916-1930 Series 22332
Farmington. Justice of the Peace
Justice dockets, 1908-1913; 1925-1929 Series 22333
Manti. Justice of the Peace
Criminal docket, 1873-1892 Series 21885
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Abraham precinct
Docket book, 1902-1928 Series 83339
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Delta Precinct
Docket books, 1922-1969 Series 83340
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Fillmore Precinct
Docket books, 1901-1938 Series 83341
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Flowell Precinct
Docket books, 1927-1941 Series 83342
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Kanosh Precinct
Docket books, 1942-1970 Series 83344
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Meadow Precinct
Docket book, 1940-1952 Series 83345
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Scipio Precinct
Docket books, 1912-1942; 1961-1964 Series 83347
Park City. Justice of the Peace  
Criminal case docket books, 1886-1953 Series 5369
Piute County. Justice of the Peace : Junction Precinct
Justice Docket, 1907-1932; 1949-1963 Series 19026
Piute County. Justice of the Peace : Marysvale Precinct
Justice Docket, 1920-1928; 1933-1948 Series 19027
Tooele County. Justice of the Peace  
Ophir and Tooele City precinct docket book, 1876-1890 Series 23523
Utah County. Justice of the Peace  
Civil and criminal docket book, 1873-1892 Series 9578
County attorney’s criminal docket book, 1905- Series 5036
Criminal case dockets, 1885-1896 Series 5035
Weber County.  Justice of the Peace  
Docket books, 1880-1901 Series 5077
Judge Terme’s criminal docket books, 1896-1898 Series 5070
Judge Wandleigh’s docket book, 1901-1903 Series 5336
Uintah Justice Precinct docket book, 1870-1893 Series 9628

Prominent Criminal Cases and Criminal Records

Jim Bridger

District Court (First District)  
Case files, 1851-1856; 1865 Series 25011

Butch Cassidy

District Court (Seventh District – Carbon County)
Criminal case files, 1896- Series 4031

Joseph Hillstrom (Joe Hill)

Board of Pardons  
Prisoner Pardon Application Files, 1892-1949
Case 1776
Series 328
Department of Corrections  
Prison commitment registers, 1875-
Joseph Hill, #1493, pages 224 and 266, Joe Hill, #1493 and #2849, pages 224, 266, 386, Joe Hillstrom, #3256, #3473, #3283, page 360
Series 80388
District Court (Third : Salt Lake County)  
Criminal Case Files, 1896-1969
Case 3532
Series 1471
Governor (1909-1917 : Spry)  
Joseph Hillstrom case records, 1915-1916 Series 6642
Joseph Hillstrom correspondence, 1914-1916 Series 2941
Joseph Hillstrom petitions, 1914-1916 Series 6645
Secretary of State of Utah  
Public Documents, 1896-1956
1913-1914 Part I, Biennial Report of the Attorney General (#2), p. 57
Series 240
Supreme Court  
Utah Reporter
Volume 44, Dec. 1913-July 1914, case 2527 decided January 28,  1914, pp. 79-88
Series 1481

Japanese American Internment During WWII

Davis County. County Sheriff  
Alien enemy registration forms, 1940-1945 Series 22990
Millard County. Justice of the Peace : Delta Precinct
Docket books, 1922-1969 Series 83340

Frank J. Mooremeister

Department of Registration  
Moormeister license revocation, 1930-1939 Series 679

Mountain Meadows Massacre

Archives and Records Service  

Territorial militia records, 1849-1877, 1905-(ca. 1917)
Contains surviving records of the Utah Territorial Militia (the Nauvoo Legion), including orders, muster rolls, etc.  Information is available in this series on several participants in the Mountain Meadows Massacre.  Also records related to military court marshals can be found in this series.

Series 2210
Territorial militia service cards, 1850-1880
Includes information on people who served in the Territorial Militia, such as name, rank, unit, dates of service, and payroll information
Series 6195
District Court (Second District)  
Criminal case files, 1855-1895
Case 31 is the John D. Lee trial concerning the Mountain Meadows Massacre [Complete Case Timeline]
Series 24291
Iron County. Clerk of the Probate Court  
Parowan justice court records and William Dame correspondence, 1850-1887 Series 13052
Secretary of the Territory  
Territorial Executive Papers, 1850-1896
Contains official records required to be kept by the Secretary of the Utah Territory, such as pardons, appointments, etc.  Included are petitions for a pardon of John D. Lee.
Series 241
Supreme Court  
Utah Reporter, 1851-
This is the official publication outlet for decisions and opinions of the Utah Supreme Court. Challenge to indictment against John D. Lee, 2 Utah 441
Series 1481
District Court (Third District : Salt Lake County)  
Probate case files, 1851-
Custody assignments of minor survivors of the massacre, case #61 (1859)
Series 1621
Probate Record Books, 1852-1966
Record documenting custody assignments of minor survivors of the massacre, reel 01, page 126
Series 3372

Polygamy Records

Department of Corrections  
Prison commitment registers, 1875- Series 80388
District Court (First District)  
Grand jury minutes, 1886-1893 Series 1525
Weber County unlawful cohabitation subpoenas and warrants, 1885-1890 Series 1577
District Court (Third District : Salt Lake County)  
Grand jury records, 1903, 1907 Series 23983
US Commissioner criminal case record book, 1890-1895 Series 3928
State Constitutional Convention  
Records, 1895 Series 3212
Supreme Court  
Case files, 1870- Series 1470
Utah Commission  
Minute books, 1882-1896 Series 1126
Reports to the Secretary of the Interior, 1882-1896 Series 85194

Inquest Records

District Court (Third District : Salt Lake County)  
Coroners’ inquest case files, 1870-1871; 1886-1937 Series 3851
District Court (Seventh District : Carbon County)  
Inquest records, 1926-1945 Series 3640
Salt Lake City. City Court  
Inquest registers, 1909-1965 Series 2245
Weber County. County Coroner  
Inquests, 1874-1949 Series 5312

Juvenile Justice

Case files of juvenile crimes are both sealed (non-public) and not kept permanently.

Division of Juvenile Justice Services  
Annual Reports, 1983- Series 23285
Publications, 1991- Series 3230

Police Records

Bingham Canyon City  
Police arrest register, 1908-1917, 1932-1938 Series 4607
Cache County. County Sheriff  
Commitment orders record book, 1888-1909 Series 5384
Jail prisoner’s register, 1888-1912 Series 3699
Publications, 2001- Series 24532
Millard County. County Sheriff  
Summons and arrest book, 1909-1926 Series 83453
Ogden. Police Department  
Glass plate negatives of documents, 1911-1913 Series 4101
Park City. Public Safety  
Arrests registers, 1892-1904, 1930-1942, 1962 Series 5368
Provo. Police Department  
Case files, 1968-1975 Series 85234
Commitment orders register, 1903-1908 Series 83985
Complaint log book, 1925-1926 Series 83986
Saint George. Police Department  
Incident reports, 1892- Series 85118
Salt Lake City. City Attorney  
Police court dockets, 1896-1898 Series 4628
Salt Lake City. Police Department  
Arrest blotters, 1892-1893 Series 4612
Arrest registers, 1891-1899 Series 4611
Book of drunks index, 1891-1902 Series 4617
Criminal record books, 1871-1878 Series 4639
Criminal register, 1892-1897 Series 4658
Publications, 1928- Series 4925
Utah County. County Sheriff  
Index, 1966-1968 Series 6184
Utah Highway Patrol  
Arrest and warnings quarterly statistical reports, 1952- Series 2278
Publications, 1948-1991 Series 2280
Reports, 1948-1950 Series 17796
Weber County. County Sheriff  
Annual report, 1980- Series 22358

Secretary of State (now Lieutenant Governor) records

Secretary of State  
Board of Pardons minutes, 1969-1974 Series 238
Criminal Requisitions Registers, 1881-1949 Series 306
Criminal Warrant Register, 1881-1895 Series 305
Executive Record Books, 1850-1946 Series 242
Governor’s reprieves, 1941- Series 17584
Pardons, 1885-1959 Series 397
Pardons granted record books, 1880-1921 Series 329
Territorial Executive Papers, 1850-1896 Series 241

State Prison Records

Department of Corrections. Inmate Services  
Prison commitment registers, 1875- Series 80388
State Prison  
Criminal physical description book, 1904-1914 Series 11886
Prisoner received and released record book, 1889- Series 16982
Publications, 1957- Series 832
Visitors register, 1946-1952 Series 804

Supreme Court

Utah. Supreme Court  
Abstracts and briefs, 1888- Series 1489
Case files, 1870- Series 1470
Civil and criminal case index, 1935-1956 Series 1455
Civil and criminal docket books, 1973-1977 Series 1513
Correspondence, 1931- Series 1482
Decision Record Books, 1861-1883 Series 1459
Docket books, 1924-1974 Series 1460
Grand jury book, 1888-1889 Series 11506
Minutes, 1861; 1943-1945 Series 1458
Motion and order files, 1905- Series 1485
Opinions, 1886- Series 1487
Record of opinions index, undated Series 1461
Recorded arguments, 1952-1958; 1962-1977 Series 1473
Rehearing petitions, 1907-1920 Series 1484
Utah Reporter, 1851 Series 1481
Writ files, 1900- Series 1494

return to top