Utah Department of Administrative Services

Division of Archives & Records Service

Series 25936

Supreme Court Minute book indexes

Some records may not be available for research from June 1-11, 2015 due to equipment upgrades. Please consider visiting beforehand or contacting the Research Center for more information.

Dates: 1889-1984.

8.00 cubic feet and 1 microfilm reelSkip to Containers

These records are housed in the Utah State Archives' permanent storage room.

Historical Note

An agency history is available.

Scope and Content

These index books serve as a finding aid for the Minute Books of the Utah Supreme Court. Typically index book numbers correspond to the appropriate book they're indexing, except for the case of book 5/6 and book 8/9 which act to index two separate Minute Book volumes per index book.


Chronological by date.

Related Records

Case files from the Supreme Court, Series 1470, contains the case files from the Utah Supreme Court.

Utah Reporter from the Supreme Court, Series 1481, includes the officially published opinions of the court.

Registers of actions from the Supreme Court, Series 25937, can be used to obtain information on cases heard before the Utah Supreme Court.

Minute books from the Supreme Court, Series 25964, contains the minute books indexed by these records.

Access Restrictions

This series is classified as Public.

Preferred Citation

Cite the Utah State Archives and Records Service, the creating agency name, the series title, and the series number.

Processing Note

This series was archivally processed by Jim Kichas in September 2005. The record books have been kept because of their intrinsic value, determined based on their status as a portion of the relatively few surviving historic records from the Utah Supreme Court.

Indexing Terms

Container List

1 3 Indexes Minute Book 03 (1889-1894)
1 4 Indexes Minute Book 04 (1895-1898)
1 5/6 Indexes Minute Books 05 And 06 (1898-1909)
1 7 Indexes Minute Book 07 (1909-1913)
1 8/9 Indexes Minute Book 08 And 09 (1913-1921)
1 10 Indexes Minute Book 10 (1921-1925)
1 11 Indexes Minute Book 11 (1925-1929)
1 12 Indexes Minute Book 12 (1929-1933)
1 13 Indexes Minute Book 13 (1933-1939)
1 14 Indexes Minute Book 14 (1939-1950)
1 15 Indexes Minute Book 15 (1950-1959)
1 16 Indexes Minute Book 16 (1959-1967)
1 17 Indexes Minute Book 17 (1967-1972)
1 18 Indexes Minute Book 18 (1972-1977)
1 19 Indexes Minute Book 19 (1977-1980)
1 20 Indexes Minute Book 20 (1981-1984)