Series 23647
Paragonah (Utah) Cemetery deeds

Dates: 1913-

1 microfilm reelSkip to Containers

These records are housed in the Utah State Archives' permanent storage room.

Historical Note

An agency history is available.

Scope and Content

Utah city or county recorders keep cemetery deeds to document burial rights in community cemeteries (Compiled Laws of Utah 15-10-632x5, 632x6, 1907). Cemetery deeds in this series convey burial rights, or ownership of Paragonah Cemetery plots to individuals from the LDS ward bishop (1913-1917) or the town president (1919-present). In 1917, the town board passed an ordinance which passed ownership of the city cemetery from church to town (Paragonah town board minutes, 16 Nov 1917). Each deed identifies a specific plot and certifies that the purchaser has paid for it. Deeds are dated and signed by the bishop or town president (mayor).


Chronological by date issued, thereunder by certificate or deed number.

Research Note

A list of names with numbers appears at the beginning of this series. While this looks like an index, the numbers refer to the plot number which the individual purchased and not to a page number for the deed.

Related Records

Interment register from Paragonah (Utah), Series 23646, contains a map of the cemetery which indicates ownership for each plot.

Burial permits from Paragonah (Utah), Series 23648, contain a list of persons who own cemetery plots in the Paragonah cemetery. The list also includes lot number and date of payment.

Access Restrictions

This series is classified as Public.

Preferred Citation

Cite the Utah State Archives and Records Service, the creating agency name, the series title, and the series number.

Processing Note

Paragonah cemetery deeds were microfilmed at Southern Utah University under the direction of Utah State Archives in June 2001 and processed by Rosemary Cundiff in August 2001.

Indexing Terms

  • Cemeteries—Paragonah (Utah).
  • Burial—Paragonah (Utah).
  • Vital statistics—Paragonah (Utah).

Container List

1 Nov 1913-1917, 1960, 1967 (Book One)
1 Jul 1919-May 1077 (Book Two)
1 May 1980-Jan 1996 (Book Three)
1 Apr 1996-Mar 2001 (Book Four)

Page Last Updated October 18, 2012.