Utah Department of Administrative Services

Division of Archives & Records Service

State Records Committee

The State Records Committee was established in 1992 by the Utah Legislature under the Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA), Utah Code § 63G-2-101 and follows Administrative Rule Title R35. Administrative Services, Records Committee regarding procedures.

The State Records Committee meets at least quarterly to approve the retentions and dispositions of record series generated by state and local government entities. Records retention schedules under review may be found here.

The State Records Committee also serves as an appeals board when access to records has been denied by the originating agency. Their decisions and orders are available online.

Next meetings: Thursday, June 9, 2016, at 9:00 AM, at the Utah State Archives, 346 South Rio Grande Street, Salt Lake City, UT. See the Public Notice Website for details, minutes, and scheduled hearings.

Search past decisions:

Current Hearing Requests

Request Date Case Title/Participants Records Sought Appeals Paperwork
April 4, 2016 Patrick Sullivan vs. University of Utah, Medical Center

Mr. Sullivan is appealing fee waiver denial and records access to emails and names of all orthopedic surgeons/residents who worked the Prison Telemed Clinic.

August 6, 2015 Roger Bryner vs. Clearfield City

The 2nd District Court remanded this case back to the Committee.

May 16, 2016 Michael Clara vs. Utah Transit Authority

Mr. Clara is appealing fee waiver denial and records access.


Previous requests and responses may be viewed here.


To file an appeal with the Committee, write to:
Nova Dubovik
346 S. Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1106
Phone: 801-531-3834
E-mail: ndubovik@utah.gov


Forms to be used for GRAMA requests and appeals


Annual Reports




Committee Members

Member Representing
David Fleming Private Sector Records Manager
Doug Misner State History Designee
Patricia Smith-Mansfield, chair Governor's Designee
Holly Richardson Citizen Representative
Marie Cornwall Citizen Representative
Cindi Mansell Political Subdivisions
Tom Haraldsen News Media Representative

Paul H. Tonks, Assistant Attorney General, serves as counsel to the Committee.