Series 8779
Salt Lake City (Utah). Cemetery Burial plot index

Dates: 1848-

23 microfilm reelsSkip to Containers

These records are housed in the Utah State Archives' permanent storage room.

Scope and Content

This series indexes the interment records kept by the City Cemetery and also provides access to the plot deeds and deed registers via the name of the deceased. Index entries include columns for the interment number, the deed number, the name of the deceased, the interment record page, deed register page, and location of burial by plat, block, lot, tier, and grave. Not all columns are completed for all entries and occasionally interment numbers have been placed in the deed number columns. Sometime after 1976, the index was converted to a computer data base.


In the 1970s, the City Cemetery began keeping this series in an electronic format and the paper records that had been created prior to that were microfilmed. The microfilmed records are arranged alphabetically by the last name of the deceased. Occasionally names may not be in perfect alphabetical order but can be found within a few pages of the correct placing.

Research Note

Rare entries may refer to burials in cemeteries other than the Salt Lake City Cemetery.

Related Records

Interment records from Salt Lake City (Utah). Cemetery, Series 6722, Are the individual interment records for each burial in the City Cemetery.

Cemetery deed register from Salt Lake City (Utah). Cemetery, Series 6724, may also be indexed through this series

Cemetery plot deeds from Salt Lake City (Utah). Cemetery, Series 6725, are also indexed here.

Access Restrictions

This series is classified as Public.

Preferred Citation

Cite the Utah State Archives and Records Service, the creating agency name, the series title, and the series number.

Processing Note

This series was filmed by the Utah State Archives in 1976. Archival processing of the films was completed by Arlene Schmuland in September 2002.

Indexing Terms

Container List

1 1848-1976 Aalund-Azbill
2 1848-1976 Baak-Bezzant
3 1848-1976 Bibertson-Broyhan
3 1848-1976 Briager-Bywater
4 1848-1976 Cabarrubia-Clyino
5 1848-1976 Coad-Czerny
6 1848-1976 Dack-Dixon
7 1848-1976 Doan-Dyson
8 1848-1976 Eaby-Eysser
9 1848-1976 Faber-Fyhn
10 1848-1976 Gaarden-Golson
10 1848-1976 Gomber-Gyman
11 1848-1976 Haack-Harynes
11 1848-1976 Haselman-Hnaras
12 1848-1976 Hoagland-Hyter
13 1848-1976 Iakani-Justison
14 1848-1976 Kaalstad-Kjobech
15 1848-1976 Klades-Kytros
15 1848-1976 Labba-Leyshon
15 1848-1976 Li-Lyttle
16 1848-1976 Maack-McCurdy
16 1848-1976 McDaniel-Meysey
17 1848-1976 Micelli-Nystrom
18 1848-1976 O'Born-Oyahi
18 1848-1976 Pabst-Pezzapane
18 1848-1976 Pfeiffer-Pyper
19 1848-1976 Quast-Rnowlden
20 1848-1976 Roach-Rzepkowski
20 1848-1976 Saad-Sezuezka
20 1848-1976 Shackelton-Squires
21 1848-1976 Staats-Systsma
22 1848-1976 Taban-Tyson
22 1848-1976 Uber-Vrondos
23 1848-1976 Wabel-Wikane
23 1848-1976 Willbeck-Wzeloz
23 1848-1976 Yager-Zysling

Page Last Updated October 18, 2012.