Agency History 873


The Utah Silk Commission was created by a legislative act in 1896. (Laws of Utah, 1896, Chapter 92). The intention of the Act was to establish sericulture in the State, and to promote silk production through paying a bounty to any persons or corporations producing silk. The Commission was abolished by the Legislature in 1905 (Laws of Utah, 1905, Chapter 59).


The Silk Commission was created to examine bounty claims, to make a record of the progress of silk culture, to publish instructions and to provide instruction and eggs to those involved in the industry.


The Governor appointed a committee of five persons, with no more than three belonging to the same political party. The first five appointees were appointed to one, two, three, four, or five year terms (one of each) with all later appointments to be for five year terms. Length of service terms were to be decided by the Governor (Laws of Utah, 1896, Chapter 92). By 1900, the Commission had been arranged internally into five positions, the President, Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary (First Biennial Report).


The Silk Commission was essentially independent. While the Governor (UTSVH00446) was responsible for appointing members, the Commission did not report to him. The Commission was to report annually to the Secretary of State (UTSVH00603), and all bounty payments were approved by the Secretary of State, but the Commission was not a direct part of that Office.

DIRECTORS (in order of appointment)
Margaret A. Caine 1896-1905, Secretary 1900-1905
Mary A. Cazier 1896-1897(8)
Isabella Bennett 1896-1900, Treasurer 1900
Zina D. H. Young 1896-1900, President 1900
Ann C. Woodbury 1896-1905, Vice President 1900-1905
Elizabeth C. Packard 1899-1905, Second Vice President 1900, President 1901-1905
Maria E. Zundel 1901-1905, Second Vice President 1901- 1905
Rachel U. Siegel 1901-1905, Treasurer 1901- 1905

COMPILED BY: Arlene Schmuland , December 1998


Legislature. Laws of Utah, Chapter 92, 1896, (Series 83155). Legislature. Laws of Utah, Chapter 59, 1905, (Series 83155). Secretary of State. Public documents serial set, 1896-1956, (Series 240). Secretary of State. Commission registers, 1875-1938, (Series 352).

Page Last Updated July 30, 2003 .