State Records Committee

Transparency Services


The State Records Committee is a public body established in 1992 by the Utah Legislature under the Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA). Utah Code § 63G-2-501 defines the Committee’s membership and method of appointment. Utah Code § 63G-2-502 outlines the Committee’s duties and responsibilities. The State Records Committee is a public body and meets in accordance with the Open and Public Meetings Act (Utah Code Utah Code 52-4). Administrative Rule Title R35 further defines how the Committee functions.

Purpose and Membership

The Committee meets on the third Thursday of each month at 9:00 AM at the Taylorsville State Office Building (4315 South 2700 West, Taylorsville, UT 84129; view map). The meeting may also be accessed via Zoom. See the Public Notice Website for meeting details, links, minutes, and scheduled hearings.

The Committee hears appeals of government’s determinations to deny access to records. These denials can be based on restricted classification or other reason for denying access, including an unreasonable denial of a request for a fee waiver. The Committee also hears appeals regarding a governmental entity's request for relief from a requester they consider vexatious. The Committee’s decisions and orders are available online.

The seven-member committee is comprised of the director of the Division of Archives and Records Services or his designee, a Utah League of Cities and Towns representative, two citizen representatives, a media representative, a private sector records manager, and an individual with expertise in electronic records and databases.

File an Appeal

To file an appeal with the Committee, write to:
    Rebekkah Shaw
    SRC Executive Secretary
    346 S. Rio Grande
    Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1106
    Phone: 385-386-1955
    E-mail: [email protected]

Decisions and Orders

The decisions and orders issued by the State Records Committee from appeals are available to view.

Browse Orders
State Records Committee