State District Court Records

The district court is the state trial court of general jurisdiction. The district court has original jurisdiction for all civil cases; all criminal felonies, such as homicides, assaults, sex and drug offenses, forgery, arson, and robbery; and misdemeanors in certain circumstances. An important part of the district court caseload is domestic relations cases, such as divorces, child custody and support, adoption, and probate. District judges have the power to issue extraordinary writs. Also, naturalizations were often handled by the courts. Beginning in 1896, the records for each county were kept separately. There are now eight judicial districts, but it is important to consult the historical jurisdictional chart to know the districts that counties fell under in times past. 

Districts and Counties

  1. First District Court
    1. Box Elder County
    2. Cache County
    3. Rich County
  2. Second District Court
    1. Davis County
    2. Morgan County
    3. Weber County
  3. Third District Court
    1. Salt Lake County
    2. Summit County
    3. Tooele County
  4. Fourth District Court
    1. Juab County
    2. Millard County
    3. Utah County
    4. Wasatch County
  5. Fifth District Court
    1. Beaver County
    2. Iron County
    3. Washington County
  6. Sixth District Court
    1. Garfield County
    2. Kane County
    3. Piute County
    4. Sanpete County
    5. Sevier County
    6. Wayne County
  7. Seventh District Court
    1. Carbon County
    2. Emery County
    3. Grand County
    4. San Juan County
  8. Eight District Court
    1. Daggett County
    2. Duchesne County
    3. Uintah County

Map Courtesy of

Court Records Preservation Project

NHPRC Documenting Democracy A grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commmission (NHPRC) has provided funding to arrange, describe, and microfilm the historic records of district courts from three counties in Utah from 1852-1955.

Page Last Updated May 13, 2008.