Utah Governor's Correspondence

This research guide was created to facilitate student research during the 2020-2021 academic year National History Day celebration. In 2020-2021 students were asked to explore topics relating to the theme Communication in History: The Key to Understanding. This theme asks students to consider how people exchange information and interact with each other. Students have the chance to explore how the methods and modes of communication have changed over time and how they have shaped the present.

A part of a letter to a governor

There are few records held by the Utah Division of Archives and Records Service (State Archives) that illustrate the power and importance of communication like the correspondence sent and received by Utah’s governors.

As the chief executive of the State, the governor directly engages with issues of both local and national importance. They serve as the representative for the state on a wide range of issues. The governor’s office has routinely proven to be a place where citizens engage with their government. This ongoing information exchange is foundational to the historic record as it provides unique, often personal, insights into key historical moments and circumstances.

As the permanent repository for Utah’s government records, the State Archives holds the correspondence generated by Utah’s governors in public trust. These records are available for research and access through its Research Center.

This research guide intends to bring together the correspondence from the various administrations of Utah’s governors into a central location that will help with research. Descriptions of each correspondence record set are provided. Where possible, a list of topics of state and national interest unique to any given administration are also included.

While each governor has had their own unique set of challenges and circumstances to navigate, recurring themes tend to recur in all correspondence generated by Utah’s governors. These themes include:

  • Correspondence with the Federal Government and Utah’s Federal Delegation.
  • Communication and Coordination with other Governors and State Governments.
  • Communication and Coordination with Local Governments.
  • Communication and Coordination with Utah’s State Government Agencies that report to the Governor.
  • Communication with the Utah State Legislature.
  • Correspondence and Coordination with the Business Community (State and National).
  • Correspondence and Coordination with Professional Associations and Non-Profit Groups.
  • Correspondence Relating to Crime, Prisoners, and Pardons.
  • Correspondence on Education and Schooling in Utah.
  • Correspondence on Environmental Issues.
  • Correspondence on Infrastructure and Development in the State of Utah.
  • Correspondence on Industry, Mining, and Extractive Industry in Utah.
  • Correspondence on Publicity and Tourism in Utah.
  • Correspondence on Military Issues.
  • Correspondence on Social Issues of Importance to Utah’s Citizens.

Research by Jim Kichas
Originally published in February 2021
Download as PDF

Brigham Young
(1850 -1857)

Letterbooks, 1853-1857
Series 13844

This letterbook consists of 713 pages of outgoing correspondence covering the years 1853-1858. These letters were written by Brigham Young in his capacity as Utah's first territorial governor and as superintendent of Indian Affairs. The bulk of the correspondence relates to Indian Affairs—e.g. property and trade negotiations, reports of attacks, and the licensure and bonding of individuals to act as Indian agents.

  • Indian Affairs
  • US War Department
  • US Treasury
  • Territorial Government
  • Pardons

Arthur Lloyd Thomas
(1889 -1893)

Correspondence, 1874-1892 Series 245

This series is a miscellany of correspondence to Territorial Governor Arthur Lloyd Thomas and his personal staff. The correspondence was received from federal officials, governors, and the general public as well as from friends and family regarding the activities and duties of the governor. Also included are letters from 1915 and 1918, more than two decades after his tenure as territorial governor.

Heber Manning Wells
(1896 -1905)

Correspondence, 1895-1904 Series 235

The major political and social issues faced by the Governor during his nine years in office are examined in this correspondence. Included are letters from private citizens requesting favors and expressing opinions; there is correspondence with members of the legislature, officers of executive departments, and managers of state institutions about topics related to their respective duties. Also included is correspondence with national officials and officials from other states. Correspondence may have attachments.

  • Appointments
  • Job Requests
  • Financial Crisis
  • Spanish American War
  • Scofield Mine Explosion

John Christoper Cutler
(1905 -1909)

Correspondence (incoming), 1905-1908 Series 202

This series contains letters to Governor Cutler. This was the Governor's primary way of communication with the Utah citizenry and other principal officials of other states and nations. The correspondence is in the form of letters, reports, and notices. Correspondence includes that with federal and state agencies as well as individuals. Education is a prominent theme, but many other subjects are also included.

  • Agriculture
  • Education

 

Correspondence (outgoing), 1905-1908 Series 203

Governor Cutler's outgoing correspondence is organized into eighteen folders and five bound letterbooks; the first letter book has been unbound and constitutes seventeen of the folders. This correspondence consists of copies of letters sent from the governor's office.

  • Infrastructure
  • Environment
  • Water
  • Laws of Utah
  • Military
  • Uinta Reservation
  • Vital Records
  • Lewis and Clark Centennial Celebration

William Spry
(1909 -1917)

Correspondence, 1908-1916 Series 226

An account of the primary activities of Governor Spry's two terms in office has been preserved in this series. As chief executive of the state, the correspondence reflects his involvement in a wide range of important administrative matters. Described are his efforts to see completion of a permanent home for state government, to increase development of the state's natural resources, to improve irrigation and water rights, to establish higher standards for agricultural products, to upgrade banking practices, to institute more equitable taxation, to provide better working conditions for children, and to promote industrial safety. Contained in the series are letters from citizens, private institutions, and businesses requesting assistance and making suggestions; descriptions of legal positions; fiscal information; correspondence within state government, with officials from other states, and with officials from the federal government.

  • State Capitol Construction
  • Finance
  • Taxation
  • Women’s suffrage
  • Prohibition
Employment correspondence, 1908-1909 Series 2937

This series consists of letters from applicants who sought state appointments during the governor's election campaign and first year in office. Typically, they stated their qualifications, describing their experience and sometimes their education. These were frequently accompanied by letters of recommendation and petitions of endorsement from supporters who praised the applicant's character and competence.

Joseph Hillstrom correspondence, 1914-1916 View Online Series 2941

As chief executive officer of the state, the governor has the authority to commute the sentences of those convicted of crimes. The conviction and execution of Joseph Hillstrom (Joe Hill) became one of the most controversial criminal cases in Utah history; it generated national and international interest. Correspondence is in the form of letters, postcards, and telegrams. Letters were sent to Governor Spry's office protesting the execution and/or conviction of Hill for the gunshot murders of J.S. Morrison and his son Arling.

  • Joe Hill
Letterbooks, 1909-1913 Series 3896

The letterbooks consist of copies of letters, most of which were sent from the Governor or from the Governor's office. Included are replies to citizens, private institutions, and businesses; communications within state government; with officials from other states; with officials from the federal government; and with officials from foreign governments. Governor Spry, as the chief executive officer of the state, dealt with a wide variety of administrative and political issues. The series gives an insight into the Governor's role in the accomplishment of several goals: to construct a state capitol building, to erect a new arsenal and armory, to build and maintain roads, to develop conservation measures, to protect natural resources, to find a larger market and establish higher standards for agricultural products, to expand water resources for irrigation and power, to drill wells in dry farming areas, to increase mining resources, to upgrade banking practices; to institute more equitable taxation, to improve the accuracy of property assessment; to provide better working conditions for children, and to promote industrial safety.

  • Agriculture
  • Battleship Utah
  • State Capitol Building
  • State Roads
  • World’s Fair
Personal correspondence, 1905-1916; 1926-1933 Series 2930

This series contains letters written about personal matters and comments on current political issues from people who appeared to be friends of Governor Spry. There are also telegraphs, copies of poems, and a souvenir program of the inaugural ball. It covers the period when Spry was appointed U.S. Marshal, the two terms he was Governor of Utah, and a period in the federal Land Office to his death in 1929 and the settlement of his estate.

  • Reed Smoot

Charles Rendell Mabey
(1921 -1925)

Correspondence, 1920-1925 Series 21963

This series contains the correspondence of Governor Mabey on a variety of topics, including the Arrowhead trail, the Wendover Cutoff, an abduction case, prohibition, and soldier land settlement. It also contains correspondence within the Republican Party addressing speaking and campaigning commitments. Some general correspondence from constituents and other governmental officials is also part of this series. These records are a documentation of Governor Mabey and the State's involvement in events and occurrences during his term in office.

  • Indian Affairs
  • US War Department
  • US Treasury
  • Territorial Government
  • Pardons

George Henry Dern
(1925 -1933)

Correspondence, 1924-1931 Series 204

This is an unprocessed record collection. In 1924, Dern was elected governor of Utah. He defeated Republican incumbent and Mormon, Charles R. Mabey. "We want a Dern good governor and we don't mean Mabey," was a popular slogan during the campaign. During Governor Dern's terms he obtained compulsory certification for all school teachers, regulations extending the jurisdiction of the Public Utilities Commission, and the expansion of automobile regulations. He managed a revision of Utah's tax laws in favor of middle and lower class groups. Dern also secured Utah's share of water in the Colorado River Compact. Because of his successes he gained notable attention both within and outside of the State and was elected the chair of the National Governors' Conference. Researchers should expect to find issues pertaining to these issues (among others) in this record series.

  • Indian Affairs
  • US War Department
  • US Treasury
  • Territorial Government
  • Pardons

Henry Hooper Blood
(1933 -1941)

Colorado River correspondence, 1933-1940 Series 22918

This series contains correspondence concerning the Colorado River and the distribution of its water. Utah was one of the four members of the upper basin states. Because of the lower basin reclamation projects, such as the Hoover Dam, the upper basin states were interested in devising their own reclamation plans to assure their share of water as designated in the Colorado River Compact of 1922. This series exhibits the actions taken by state government to safeguard their share of the water. The series contains legislative bills, resolutions, general correspondence, minutes and reports.

  • Colorado River Compact
  • Colorado River Development
  • Hoover Dam
Correspondence, 1933-1940 Series 186

This series contains both the incoming and outgoing correspondence of Governor Henry H. Blood. These letters were the Governor's central method of communicating with the Utah citizenry and other principal officials. The correspondence pertains to his duties in office and document his stance on various issues and policies. Topics addressed throughout the correspondence are extensive, ranging from prohibition and speeches to drought relief and the 1939 World's Fair. These records provide a valuable perspective into the difficulties and challenges that faced 1930s Utah and the nation as a whole.

  • Drought Relief
  • Great Depression
  • World’s Fair
  • Prohibition
State agency correspondence, 1933-1940 Series 14207

This series contains correspondence created by the different state agencies. These holdings give insight into the happenings of Utah State government agencies during this time. The series holds correspondence, reports, financial statements and other related items. The papers exhibit the workings of the government, e.g., public welfare during the Depression, delinquent taxes,how the different agencies dealt with each other and the needs of Utah's citizens. The correspondence for each agency holds letters from citizens, the governor, and members of the particular agency. Information on welfare relief, unemployment, state schools, agriculture, legislative activity, and many more topics of interest are present within this series.

  • Great Depression

Herbert Brown Maw
(1941 -1949)

Correspondence, 1941-1948 Series 221

This series contains official and personal correspondence of Governor Maw and his staff and deals with the numerous activities of Governor Maw and his administration during an eventful period of American history. This series also contains a number of federal and state correspondence which provide an insight into the workings of government in the 1940's and the policy decisions made then that still have relevance today as well as a number of personal correspondence from friends and colleagues of the Governor.

  • World War II
  • War casualties
  • Japanese internment
  • Persecution of Jews
  • United Nations
Defense agencies correspondence, 1941-1947 Series 21911

This series includes incoming and outgoing correspondence from Governor Maw's office to national and state chapters of defense councils and other related agencies. Documents deal with state and national defense issues as well as preparedness concerns. Also present are documents relating to the American war effort in World War II, and the effect of the war on different facets of Utah's society.

  • World War II

J. Bracken Lee
(1949 -1957)

Correspondence, 1949-1956 Series 211

This series includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence retained by Governor Lee's office. This correspondence documents Lee's communication regarding both state and national issues, as well as his views and policies. Interspersed in the series are a variety of other documents including reports, minutes, newspaper clippings, publications, and a few photographs. Materials in the series provide valuable documentation of Lee's view on a number of national issues and the national prominence he gained from his outspoken stance on those issues. He became particularly noted for his opposition to Communism, the United Nations, the federal income tax, and the federal foreign aid program. He gained notoriety for his refusal to celebrate United Nations Day in Utah and for his much-publicized refusal to pay federal income taxes.

  • Interstate Highway System
  • Korean War Colorado River
  • Short Creek Polygamy Raid
  • Taxation
  • United Nations
  • Indian affairs

George Dewey Clyde
(1957 -1965)

Correspondence, 1956-1964 Series 192

This is an unprocessed record collection. In 1956, George Dewey Clyde defeated incumbent J. Bracken Lee in the gubernatorial race. Clyde ran as a Republican and Lee as an independent after losing the support of the Republican party. Clyde also defeated Democrat L.C. Romney. Public service was not new to Governor Clyde. In 1934, Governor Blood appointed Clyde as the state water conservator to handle Utah's worst drought. Later, he was appointed to the advisory board of the Utah Department of Industrial Development Water Resource Division. He also was elected director and later the vice-president of the Utah Water Users Association. In 1945 Clyde was appointed chief of the Division of Irrigation Engineering and Water Conservation and Research for the U. S. Soil Conservation Service. In 1953 he became the director of the Utah Water and Power Board. While serving he was involved in many significant reclamation projects.

  • Colorado River
  • Canyonlands National Park
  • Education

Calvin L. Rampton
(1965 -1977)

Constituent correspondence, 1970-1976 Series 20905

This series contains correspondence from Utah citizens and national and international correspondence from people who are requesting autographs and autographed photographs as well as postcards, seals, and other official Utah state materials from Governor Rampton's office. This series also includes requests for favorite recipes of the Governor, campaign memorabilia, and general information about Utah. The majority of the correspondence is from collectors and school children. The national bicentennial year of 1976 was a particularly popular time for these two groups to write to the Governor. Periodically, correspondence appears that requests information about the Governor's Commission on the Status of Women. Almost all of the requests are answered with form letters, although these responses are not included with these materials.

  • American Bicentennial Celebration
Correspondence, 1964-1976 Series 13856

This series holds incoming and outgoing correspondence generated by Governor Rampton's office and his constituents, reflecting the concerns of Utahns as well as Rampton's gubernatorial policies. This series contains correspondence from various organizations and individuals in Utah, the nation, and the world. This series holds correspondence as well as materials on state policy, a small number of photographs, newspaper clippings, petitions, and related items.

Federal correspondence, 1964-1976 Series 20913

This series contains correspondence, reports, and other materials generated by the interaction between Governor Rampton's office and federal agencies and offices. These materials reflect the role of federal agencies in the development of state policies. Of particular note are the materials generated by the Department of the Interior (which deal with the development and management of lands in Utah) as well as correspondence from the President and Vice President of the United States.

Issues correspondence, 1967-1976 Series 20904

This series contains letters to Governor Rampton on issues, most of them controversial, that Utahns were concerned with from 1970 to 1976. The issues include concern or controversy over the building of the Trans-Escalante Highway, air pollution in the Salt Lake Valley (many Utahns sent in photographs of some of the worst examples of air pollution that they had seen), pornographic and "obscene" literature, the Equal Rights Amendment, the fate of wild horses and burros in Utah, the execution of convicted murderer Gary Gilmore, and the proposed Kaiparowits Power Project.

Outgoing correspondence, 1965-1976 Series 17581

This series contains outgoing correspondence from Governor Rampton's office, created in response to letters received from constituents and others. Responses were written by Rampton as well as his administrative assistant, press secretary, and executive secretary. This series includes, for example, extradition correspondence, replies to invitations, letters regarding Daylight Savings Time, letters to kin of Utahns killed in Vietnam, and letters to governors of other states. All letters in this series are carbon copies.

State Agency correspondence, 1960-1976 Series 14250

This series contains correspondence created by various state agencies, as well as related correspondence created by Governor Rampton and the citizens of Utah, all of which was generated in efforts to develop and delegate appropriate state policies. This series holds correspondence, reports, a small number of photographs, and other related items. The papers reflect the activity of the state agencies and the nature of the interaction between these agencies and the Governor's office. Correspondence may be found on topics including atomic energy and emergency services, alcoholism and drugs, higher education in a time of campus unrest, civil rights and equal employment opportunity, environmental health, natural resources, transportation and development of a tourist-friendly state, the celebration of America's bicentennial, Utahns who died in the Vietnam War, and the reorganization of the executive branch of the state government through the recommendations of the Little Hoover Commission.

Scott M. Matheson
(1977 -1985)

Correspondence, 1976-1984 Series 4468

This series contains an assortment of general correspondence along with letters, notes, press releases, brochures, reports, briefings and declarations that passed through the governor's office between 1976 and 1984. Subjects within this series tend to be small in volume but range across a wide spectrum of topics that pertained to Governor Matheson and his office. The section of documents labeled "miscellaneous correspondence" demonstrates the considerable number of individual, loose correspondence that passed through the governor's office during his administration. Specific topics of importance dealt with heavily in this series include flooding issues related to the Great Salt Lake, proceedings of the state legislature at different times, nuclear testing and waste disposal in Utah, the state/federal government standoff with John Singer, and water/land issues in the state.

  • Great Salt Lake Flooding
  • Nuclear Testing
  • Singer-Swapp Standoff
  • Sagebrush Rebellion
Federal correspondence, 1975-1984 Series 4530

This series contains correspondence, reports, and other materials generated by the interaction between Governor Matheson's office and federal agencies and offices. These materials reflect the role of federal agencies in the development of state policies and federal policies that affect Utah. Of particular note are the materials generated by the Department of Agriculture (including the National Forest Service) and the Department of the Interior (including the Bureau of Land Management and the National Park Service), all of which deal with the development and management of Utah lands, including the possible creation of Lone Peak Wilderness Area in 1977, and somewhat extensive correspondence between Matheson and the Secretary of the Interior, Cecil D. Andrus. Of additional interest may be materials on the proposal to relocate "Weteye" nerve gas bombs from Rocky Mountain Arsenal in Colorado to the Tooele Army Depot in Utah; those materials may be found under the Department of the Army in this series.

  • Federal Land Issues
  • Sagebrush Rebellion
  • Weteye Nerve Gas Bombs
Legal association correspondence, 1977-1984 Series 4533

This series contains correspondence, bulletins and reports relating to Governor Matheson's membership on the American Bar Association, the Stanford Law School Board of Visitors and his participation in the American Judicature Society. Topics in the American Bar Association deal with a number of national issues involving the organization, with most of the correspondence relating to the Governor's position as chairman of the ABA's Special Committee on Youth Education for Citizenship, and his membership on the ABA's Special Committee on Election Law and Voter Participation. The Governor's role on the Stanford Law School Board of Visitors is described in the correspondence as "serv[ing] as a link between the law school and its alumni and friends." Documents related to the American Judicature Society deal strictly with the national efforts of that organization and Matheson's membership with them.

  • Professional Associations
Outgoing correspondence, 1977-1984 Series 4466

This series contains outgoing correspondence, intra-office memoranda and state-wide memoranda from Governor Matheson and his office staff to constituents, state and local governmental offices, and organizations within and outside of Utah. The correspondence reflects the Governor's position on a variety of issues as well as general administrative tasks of the Governor's staff. Some of the correspondence is written by Governor Matheson in his capacity as chairman of the Western Governors' Policy Office (WESTPO), and as chairman of the National Governors' Association's Subcommittee on Water Management.

  • Central Utah Project
  • MX Missile
  • Nuclear Testing and Waste
  • Project BOLD
  • Sagebrush Rebellion
  • Weteye Nerve Gas Bomb
State agency correspondence, 1977-1984 Series 4532

This series contains correspondence, publications, and reports pertaining to state agencies that passed through the Governor's office. Correspondence was created by the various agencies, the Governor and his staff, and others, including citizens of Utah. This series contains correspondence, a small number of photographs and other related items. The papers reflect many of the policies of the governor's office and his stances on many critical issues during his terms in office. Specific topics that appear frequently in this series include the continued growth of equal opportunity and fair employment practices in Utah, the governor's position on MX missile basing in the state, education reform, alcoholism and drug abuse, natural resources, transportation, state efforts to acquire Antelope Island, and the continued efforts of state officials to develop Utah as a viable tourist and travel destination.

  • Equal Opportunity
  • MX Missile
  • Natural Resources
  • Project BOLD
  • Transportation
  • Tourism
State correspondence, 1977-1984 Series 19268

This series contains numerous types of records (including correspondence, memoranda, notes, policy statements, speeches, testimonies, proposals, and reports) generated and received by the Governor's office that reflect the development of Utah policy on the management and use of Utah's land and natural resources from 1977 to 1984. This time-period in Utah's history was marked by increased contention between Utah citizens, and local, state, and federal entities regarding the ownership, management, and use of Utah's natural resources; the records in this series reflect the role of the Governor and his staff as those responsible for the acknowledgment, and possible incorporation, of constituent and governmental concerns in policy-making in this area. Three major issues represented in this series are the Sagebrush Rebellion, Project BOLD, and the Central Utah Project.

  • Project BOLD
  • Sagebrush Rebellion
  • Central Utah Project
  • Paiute Restoration Act
  • Intermountain Power Project

Norman H. Bangerter
(1985 -1993)

Chief of Staff correspondence, 1985-1992 Series 12412

This series documents the activities of Governor Bangerter's chiefs of staff and their deputies, the principal agents in setting policy for the administration, coordinating the functions of the executive branch, and monitoring the performance of state agencies. The series contains correspondence, notes, reports, and background files. The records cover a range of topics which show the interaction between the administration, state agencies, the federal government, and the public.

  • Navajo Trust Fund
  • Central Utah Project
  • Industry
  • Olympics
Correspondence, 1984-1992 Series 12413

This series contains the correspondence of Governor Norman H. Bangerter and his personal staff, rather than that of the office staff at large. The series documents that segment of the correspondence deemed of sufficient importance or interest for the Governor to handle directly. There is both incoming and outgoing correspondence. Incoming correspondence includes letters sent in but not responded to, and a few policy materials collected by the office. Outgoing correspondence contains the letters sent by the Governor. If the letter is in response to a letter sent to the Governor, that letter accompanies the outgoing letter and is filed by the date of the Governor's response. The correspondence is with state agencies, federal agencies, businesses and organizations, political groups, other governors, and the public, particularly friends and family.

  • Central Utah Project
  • Death Penalty
  • Singer-Swapp Standoff
  • Olympics
First Lady correspondence, 1984-1992 Series 12409

This is the correspondence handled by the staff of the Governor's residence. There is some correspondence bearing Governor Norman Bangerter's signature, but the series consists primarily of his wife's records, as she worked primarily out of the Governor's mansion. As the Governor's wife, Colleen Bangerter was a sought-after speaker and board member. She was responsible for many of the social aspects of the administration. She was also active in community projects and sometimes served on gubernatorial task forces. This series documents her involvement as well as that of her staff and affiliated groups.

  • Education
Office correspondence, 1984-1992 Series 85075

This series represents the correspondence handled by the governor's office staff during Norman Bangerter's two terms as governor. The series reflects the governor's response to constituent concerns while governing the state. These constituents include primarily the general public, but also civic and business leaders and heads of governmental agencies. Mail was received in the office and distributed to the appropriate staff for response. The mail and the responses then were filed centrally. Letters are occasionally accompanied by tapes, photographs, or other materials.

  • Persian Gulf War
  • Central Utah Project
  • Superconducting Super Collider
  • Death Penalty
  • Olympics
Significant issues correspondence, 1985-1993 Series 12415

This series contains letters to the Governor on issues which generated large quantities of mail from constituents wishing to register their opinions or lobby for a particular action on the part of the Governor. Generally the Governor's office replied with a form letter. At times no attempt was made to respond. Funding issues are a common topic. Construction of a dance building at the University of Utah in 1985; threatened cut-backs in funding to aging services and senior centers in 1986; threatened tax increases, particularly to fund education, and the allotment of funds to dislocated Geneva steel workers in 1987; and arts education funding in 1991; all generated numerous letters from the public. Social issues--abortion legislation in 1991, hazardous waste disposal in 1991, and the call for a constitutional amendment regarding public prayer in 1992--were other common topics. Public prayer letters take up a third of the series. Flooding brought numerous suggestions for remedies from the public, beginning as early as 1983 under Governor Scott Matheson's administration. The subsequent West Desert Pumping Project increased the amount of public comment. While form letters were sometimes used to respond to this topic, even in those instances considerable effort was made to individually tailor the response.

  • Abortion
  • Great Salt Lake Flooding
  • Public Prayer

Michael Okerlund Leavitt
(1993 - 2003)

Administrative constituent correspondence, 1993-2003 Series 13368

Access restrictions may apply. This series contains correspondence directed to the Governor's office from constituents and assorted special interests. The correspondence in this series does not contain vital government information. The information present includes incoming constituent letters, phone call responses, in-person responses, letters of appreciation, congratulations, charity funds, parking assignments, acknowledgments, transmittal of inquiries, requests that were referred elsewhere for replies, miscellaneous memoranda, office organization, staffing, and internal communications. Correspondences in this series are differentiated from other correspondence in the Governor's office by the fact that they do not include an attached, signed copy of the Governor's response. If a referral was made by the Governor's office to another state agency, a copy of that agency's response is often attached.

  • Taxation
  • Death Penalty
Executive constituent correspondence, 1993-2003 Series 13369

This series contains records not duplicated elsewhere that document how Governor Leavitt's office was organized, how it functioned, its pattern of action, and its policies, procedures and achievements. Correspondence in this series was sent to the Governor's office from outside sources. The correspondence is responded to when needed. The Governor's office would sometimes refer letters to other agencies to respond, however the original response remained in the Governor's office.

Executive correspondence, 1993-2003 Series 19884

This is an unprocessed record series.

Olene S. Walker
(2003 - 2005)

Constituent correspondence, 2003-2005 Series 25849

This series includes correspondence directed to the Governor's office from Utah citizens and others voicing their concerns and opinions on various topics often requesting action or information of Governor Olene Walker or a state agency. The records include incoming constituent letters, electronic mail, phone call inquiries, in-person inquiries, and requests that have been referred elsewhere for the Governor's response. If a question or request was forwarded by the Governor's office to a state agency, a copy of that agency's response is often attached. Subjects include a vast array of topics such as consumer protection, environmental concerns, corrections, legislation, and the rights of state prisoners.

  • Consumer Protection
  • Environment
  • Corrections
Executive correspondence, 2003-2004 Series 25848

This series contains an assortment of correspondence sent and received during Governor Walker's term. The two folders of incoming correspondence were primarily received from local, state and national leaders corresponding on a wide range of issues that were pressing at that time. This section is arranged chronologically and does not represent all correspondence received by Governor Walker, but rather a majority sample of those for which the Governor read and sent a response. The nineteen remaining folders contain correspondence with state agencies, local government, federal and other state officials, civic and business groups and the general public. Included are certifications, congratulatory letters, notes of condolence or sympathy, welcome letters to groups meeting in Utah, letters of reference, thank-you letters, letters of support and introduction, invitation letters to civic and business groups, grant and funding requests and congressional and federal agency letters.

Jon M. Huntsman, Jr.
(2005 - 2009)

Constituent correspondence, 2005-2009 Series 25856

This series includes letters to the Governor's office from Utah citizens and others who are presenting their opinions on various topics. Included are requests for action by the Governor or a State Agency on various issues or situations. Also present are requests for information or souvenir items from the office of Governor Huntsman. Information in the series includes incoming constituent letters, constituent email, constituent phone call inquiries, in-person inquiries, requests that have been referred elsewhere for replies and responses.

Executive correspondence, 2004-2009 Series 25857

This series contains a variety of business-related correspondence from the office of Governor John Huntsman which provide unique information about administrative functions, policies, procedures, and programs. These records document material discussions and decisions made regarding a wide variety of agency interests. The series also contains a number of correspondence to state agencies as well as individual state employees (in the form of awards or congratulation letters). This correspondence is filed separately from program case files, and project files.

Page Last Updated February 26, 2021.